Studying Fashion

I’ve started to hate the first 10 minutes of meeting someone new. Like explaining that I’m re-sitting the year because I didn’t get the grades I needed for the course I wanted to do is not bad enough…I now have to explain the ‘drastic’ change of heart I had about the course I want to do- Economics to Fashion. Of course I understand that people want to get a sense of who I am and learn about what I’m doing, but I can’t appreciate people being so narrow minded. Apparently “there’s not much you can do with fashion” well that’s what I was told by a friend of a friend…yeah I didn’t even know this person!  It’s absurd. Like in any other industry, if one excels within that field then they are bound to be successful. If I manage to do well at university and all goes to plan after that, in theory I should have a really promising career and future ahead of me.

Although it’s incredibly annoying, I think the doubt of others has made me want to persevere even more. I feel like I have to prove a point. It’s very judgemental (the industry and people in general) and I have to get used to that. I don’t have money to splash on designer clothes and when you look at me you’d probably not guess that I’m a to-be fashion student but, I have imagination and I think that’s what’s going to allow me to exceed, I really do. Having vision and passion and being able to express yourself is something you can’t buy, these components are most important. I guess it all falls in to place after.

-Subscribe to receive email updates for this blog.

2 Responses to “Studying Fashion”

  1. I am not the most fashion minded person so I could be wrong but after reading your blog I believe you have an eye for fashion so to speak. I to feel that when people give you that doubtful look it is a rocket to your dreams. It is like you do it better because someone says you couldn’t make it or thought you would fail.

Leave a Reply

